## I MINA' TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2012 (SECOND) Regular Session

Resolution No. 452-31 (COR)

**Introduced By:** 

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

T.R. Muña Barnes

Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.
B.J.F. Cruz

Relative to recognizing the Marianas History Conference "One Archipelago Many Stories" for highlighting and enlightening our island communities in Micronesia and throughout the academic world of the many facets and rich, deep history of the Chamorro people and congratulating the Guam Preservation Trust, the Northern Marianas Islands' Humanities Council, Guampedia.com, presenters and panelists for their tremendous contribution of time and effort towards the perpetuation of the Chamorro culture, traditions, and language, and to give homage and respect to "I mañaina'ta" for protecting and nurturing our heritage and culture throughout the history of "I taotao pasifiku – I man Chamorro."

## BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA' TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, The First Marianas History Conference is slated for June 14, 2012 through June 17, 2012 and held at Fiesta Resort and Spa in Garapan, Saipan Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas Islands; and

WHEREAS, This year's theme: "One Archipelago, Many Stories" highlights the deep and rich history of the Marianas Islands truly exemplifies the many hardships and accomplishments the people of the Marianas have endured bridging the political divisions of the archipelago which dates to the late 19th century; and

WHEREAS, With a cadre of intellectual and historical perspectives, this conference promises a wealth of information and topics featuring prominent speakers: Reverend Father Francis X. Hezel, SJ, "Setting the Agenda: Quilting the Patches and

- 1 Stitching them Together"; "Leapfrogging Through History: Hayi Mañaina-mu?"
- 2 Former Guam Delegate to the United States Congress, The Honorable Robert A.
- 3 Underwood, Ph.D. (current President of the University of Guam); "Migration of
- 4 Chamorro from Guam to Saipan in the late 1800's"; Reverend Father Eric Forbes, OFM
- 5 CAP, and featured performance by Moneka De Oro, Dako'ta Alcantara-Camacho, and
- 6 Eva Aguon Cruz performing: "Buried beneath Latte and Bombs: Finding Strength and
- 7 Struggle in Islas Marianas", as well as participation and contributions of forty-five (45)
- 8 papers and six (6) posters from a diverse group of student scholars, historians,
- 9 archeologists, anthropologists, economists, and ethnic studies scholars from Guam, the
- 10 Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas Islands, Australia, Japan, New Zealand, the
- 11 United States of America, Germany, Spain, and England; and
- WHEREAS, The conference will showcase oral/genealogy of Chamorro history
- spanning eras from Ancient Chamorro History, Early Colonial (17th to 18th centuries),
- Late Colonial (19th to 20th centuries), and World War II: Recent (post-war) Research; and
- WHEREAS, Conference participants will examine challenges and opportunities
- 16 confronting their work and to develop strategies to facilitate the continuity of study of
- 17 the Marianas history; and
- 18 WHEREAS, This important event serves as a catalyst to initiate dialogue among
- 19 key organizations from Guam and the Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas
- 20 Islands that utilize public funding to support the study, interpretation, and
- 21 dissemination of Marianas' history; and
- 22 WHEREAS, collectable posters depicting Marianas history and other
- 23 publications will be made available culminating the conference with tours of selected
- 24 historical sites on Saipan; and
- WHEREAS, The conference proceedings papers and posters will be made
- 26 available online as an e-publication from the Northern Marianas Islands Humanities
- 27 Council, The Guam Preservation Trust, and Guampedia.com; now therefore be it

RESOLVED, that the Committee on Rules of I Mina' Trentai Unu Na Liheslaturan 1 Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, recognize the Marianas History 2 Conference "One Archipelago Many Stories" for highlighting and enlightening our 3 island communities in Micronesia and throughout the academic world of the many 4 facets and rich, deep history of the Chamorro people and congratulates the Guam 5 Islands' Humanities Trust, the Northern Marianas Council, 6 Preservation 7 Guampedia.com, presenters and panelists for their tremendous contribution of time and effort towards the perpetuation of the Chamorro culture, traditions, and language, 8 and to give homage and respect to "I mañaina'ta" for protecting and nurturing our 9 heritage and culture throughout the history of "I taotao pasifiku – I man Chamorro."; 10 and be it further 11 RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on Rules certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of

12 13 the same be thereafter transmitted to First Marianas Conference Organizational 14 15 \$ Committee, the Guam Preservation Trust, the Northern Marianas Islands Preservation 16 Trust, Guampedia.com, the Honorable Robert A. Underwood, Ph.D., Reverend Father Francis X. Hezel, SJ, Reverend Father Eric Forbes, OFM CAP, Honora Tenorio, Rosanna 17 Barcinas, Scott Russell, Moneka De Oro, Dako'ta Alcantara-Camacho, Eva Aguon-Cruz, 18 Ojeya Cruz Banks, John Peterson, Jillette Leon Guerrero, Darlene Moore, Mariguita 19 Davis, Rosalind Hunter Anderson, Rlene Santos Steffy, Genevieve S. Cabrera, Mike 20 21 Carson, Hsao Chun Hung, Judy Flores, Omaira Brunal-Perry, Rebecca Hofmann, Kathleen Broom Williams, Michael Bavacqua, Geoffrey Mohlman, Edward Salo, Andrea 22 Jaladoni, David Defant, Don Shuster, Ryu Arai, Dirk Spennemann, Michael Clement, 23 Shunsuke Nagashima, David Look, James Oelke, Lino Olopai, Ken Koroiwa, Yumiko 24 Imaizumi, Jesi Lujan Bennett, David Tugge, Wakako Higuchi, Jessica Jordan, Barbara 25 26 Dewein, Carlos Madrid, Fred Schumann; and to the Honorable Edward J.B. Calvo, I

Maga'låhen Guåhan.

27

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I MINA' TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THIS 12<sup>th</sup> DAY OF JUNE 2012.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D. Speaker RORY J. RESPICIO Chairperson, Committee on Rules

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES Legislative Secretary